You can’t go anywhere today without having someone give you their opinion about marijuana and the benefits that it gives you or the harm that it does to you. One thing that might elude your conversations is the laws regarding Marijuana in Missouri. Everyone has their interpretation of the law regarding DWI’s and DUI’s. So what is fact and what is fiction? You can get a DWI in Missouri just like you can have a DUI. Did you also know that you could get a DUID? Driving Under the Influence of Drugs is a real thing. It falls under the same penalty of a DUI. This means that because you were under the influence of marijuana you will have the same penalty as if you were under the influence of alcohol. If you happen to find yourself in a predicament that involves a DUID or DWI find someone that has expertise in this area.
What happens if I get a marijuana DWI in Missouri?
This is a common question that people ask. The short answer is that you can get a DWI with drugs in Missouri. With alcohol, there is a legal limit of .08 in the state of Missouri. When it comes to drugs there is no determined amount that can be in your system to convict you at the time they pull you over. They can cite you for Driving Under the Influence of Drugs no matter how small the traces are in your blood. What can you do when you are pulled over and cited for a DWI?
Here a few things that are going to happen when you get cited with a DUI:
- You are going to be arrested
- You will not be able to drive home
- You will receive a court date Your license might be suspended
- You could pay fines
- You may get probation
- You might need to attend a DUI/DWI school
- Your insurance rates may go up.
These are a few things that will happen and few things that could happen depending on your record, how many prior offenses you have, and other things. The same amount of points are added to your record for a DWI and DUI or DUID. If you get caught with drug paraphernalia, a pipe, drugs, etc, without being under the influence of them will not affect your driving record. It will, however, stay on your criminal record forever. Just like with other criminal records, you can hire an attorney to do a plea bargain that may help in reducing the impact on your record seeing as it doesn’t come off your criminal record at all. What are the penalties for a marijuana DWI in Missouri? There are DWI laws in Missouri that don’t allow you to drive impaired. This could mean that you took your prescription medicine before you go out to dinner with your family, and you could get charged with driving impaired. Driving impaired and driving impaired is the same as driving on drugs. Whether the drugs you took before you drove are legal or illegal, the consequences are still the same. Whether you get a DUI or DWI in the state of Missouri, you will get points added to your license. The first DUI or DWI will add 8 points to your license. In Missouri when you get 8 points in 18 months, in this case in one setting, your license will be revoked for at least 30 days if it is your first offense. There are other penalties for having possession of Marijuana in your car. If you have less than 10 oz. there is a fine and no possible jail time for first offenders and is a class D misdemeanor. Multiple times of doing this can result in a larger fine and some jail time. Marijuana DWI laws in Missouri vary from other states laws regarding Marijuana and driving among other things. The same laws do not reciprocate from state to state. This means that if you are going across state lines that you need to know the laws of the state that you are driving through so that you don’t get stranded somewhere you didn’t intend to get stranded.